wdytms

Why didn't you tell me sooner – Tools, techniques and stories that demand to be shared

Awesome thing 36: Making Something

with 3 comments

It doesn't look like much yet ... but I hope to be printing my own 3D plastic parts soon.

In case you haven’t heard, there’s a maker movement afoot. Do it yourselfers have been around for a long time, but this latest movement branches off from the home improvement centric DIYers and exploits the latest microcontroller like the Arduino, 3D printers and laser cutters. I love the idea of being able to download a file to print 3D objects from a place like thingiverse that other people have designed once I’ve completed building my printer in the photo above. I’m convinced that using your own creativity to make stuff is a pretty fool-proof path to being happy.

Written by Tilak Dutta

March 1, 2012 at 10:52 pm

Posted in Awesome

Tagged with

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. looks like a trend… Adam, Tilak – soon Ernest will have his own 3D printer!

    Michael T.

    March 2, 2012 at 12:21 am

  2. What’s the progress of the printer these days?

    Scott Young

    March 2, 2012 at 1:40 pm

    • Limited progress due to my pesky thesis. I think I’m about half way to commissioned. Stay tuned.

      Tilak Dutta

      March 2, 2012 at 1:43 pm


Leave a comment